UConn Dedicates Nancy Stevens Field on Diane Wright Way

STORRS, Conn. – Former University of Connecticut head box hockey coaches Diane Wright and Nancy Stevens blended to win 5 NCAA Division I National Championships, over 900 video games, and most significantly, made a good affect on the lives of numerous UConn student-athletes. The duo have been trailblazers in collegiate athletics, and tirelessly and successfully advocated for a extra equitable enjoy for girls in sports activities during their corridor of popularity careers.

To honor the duo’s contributions to the University of Connecticut, and to proceed the birthday celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the landmark federal Title IX law, the indelible contributions by way of Wright and Stevens have been marked completely in two outstanding University places previous to Sunday’s box hockey sport in opposition to Boston College, capping of UConn’s Women’s Weekend birthday celebration.

This street that runs in between Gampel Pavilion and the Werth Family Champions Center and extends to the realm in between the Greer Field House and the George J. Sherman Family Sports Complex, will from nowadays on be referred to as Diane Wright Way.  The Sherman Complex, which is house to the UConn box hockey program, will now be known as Nancy Stevens Field on the George J. Sherman Complex.


  • Head Coach Diane Wright ­led the UConn box hockey program from 1975 via 1989 and accrued a 212-62-25 file, main the Huskies to the 1981 and 1985 National Championships.
  • The start of a countrywide postseason festival for girls’s athletics got here from the passing of the historical Title IX law in 1972 and 277 Division I establishments backed girls’s sports activities getting into the NCAA in 1981. It could be in that very same 12 months when, out of 95 collaborating Division I box hockey colleges, the University of Connecticut could be decided on to host the first-ever NCAA Division I Field Hockey Championship at Memorial Stadium right here in Storrs. During that ancient 12 months in girls’s school sports activities, below new nationwide governance, seventh-year head trainer Diane Wright would information UConn to a 15-2-3 total file and a berth within the NCAA Tournament. The underdog Huskies disillusioned top-seeded and top-ranked Massachusetts, 4-1, within the championship ultimate to change into the first-ever NCAA Champion within the recreation.  Those Huskies claimed the college’s first-ever NCAA National Championship and was the first-ever school girls’s staff to be topped as a NCAA Division I Champions.
  • She led the Huskies to 5 NCAA National Semifinal appearances between 1981-1985 and used to be venerated because the National Coach of the Year in 1981.  She coached 3 student-athletes to National Player of the Year honors whilst every other 27 have been named All-Americans.  In 2006, she used to be inducted into the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Hall of Fame.


  • Head Coach Nancy Stevens succeeded Coach Wright in 1990 and led the Huskies for the following 30 years, retiring in 2020 because the winningest head trainer within the historical past of the game with a profession file of 700-189-24. Five hundred and twenty-three of the ones victories got here all the way through her tenure at UConn, the place she led the Huskies to back-to-back nationwide titles in 2013 and 2014, and led the Huskies to an undefeated nationwide championship with a spotless 23-0 file all the way through the 2017 season.
  • During her profession, UConn seemed in 24 NCAA Tournaments, reached 18 NCAA Quarterfinals, 10 NCAA Semifinals, received 19 Big East Tournament titles and 19 Big East common season titles whilst generating 50 First Team All-Americans.  She led the Huskies to a No. 1 nationwide score in 5 other years all the way through her tenure.
  • She used to be named the National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Coach of the Year honors on 3 events, earned 9 Mideast Region Coach of the Year awards, and used to be named Big East Coach of the Year 13 instances.  On the nationwide level, 11 of her former avid gamers wore the crimson, white and blue with the U.S. National Team.
  • In 2007, Nancy joined Coach Wright in being named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

Leave a Comment