How many World Series have the Yankees won? History of New York’s Fall Classic appearances

The Yankees are again in the ALCS, and it is in opposition to an all-too-familiar opponent.

After a grueling struggle in opposition to the Guardians in the ALDS, they are taking up a rested Astros group. This shall be the 1/3 time in six years they have noticed Houston in the championship collection. 

For Yankee enthusiasts, on the other hand, it isn’t important who they are taking part in or when. They be expecting to win.

That expectation is well-earned. The Yankees are one of the maximum storied groups in sports activities, with a legacy this is synonymous with MLB excellence. With greater than 3 dozen league pennants, greater than two dozen global championships and over 20 Hall of Famers, anything else not up to a identify is thought of as a failure, regardless of how wrong the group seems to be.

MORE: How many World Series have the Astros received?

The 2022 Yankees are a fascinating lot. Aaron Judge and Giancarlo Stanton constitute their very best, however make no mistake, it is a wrong group. They’re a slight underdog (+133) to win the ALCS, according to Sports Interaction. They’re coming into the collection battered and bruised. But the objective continues to be the identical.

Have the Yankees received the World Series?

Have they ever.

The Yankees’ 27 championships are the maximum in North American skilled sports activities, with the NHL’s Montreal Canadiens moment at 24. They have received the American League pennant 40 occasions.

MORE: When is the final time the Padres went to a World Series?

Some of the Yankees’ most renowned avid gamers are enshrined in Monument Park at Yankee Stadium. The checklist of participant who have received championships in New York contains Babe Ruth, Joe DiMaggio, Mickey Mantle, Reggie Jackson, Mariano Rivera and Derek Jeter. Judge is taking a look to sign up for that corporate after a ancient person season.

Despite the Astros’ fresh luck, the Yankees are who we predict they’re. The group with the second-most global championships nonetheless in the playoffs? The Phillies, with two. The Astros have one and the Padres have none.

When is the final time the Yankees made the World Series?

It’s been an uncharacteristically lengthy dry spell for the Yankees. The 2010s had been simply the moment decade wherein the Yankees did not win a World Series, with the Nineteen Eighties being the different. They took house the Commissioner’s Trophy in 2009 with a 4-2 collection win over the Phillies.

Yankees outfielder Hideki Matsui used to be the MVP of that collection. “Godzilla” went 8 for 13 at the plate with 3 homers and a slash line of .615/.643/1.385 (2.027 OPS).

The Yankees’ 12-season World Series drought is the third-longest in franchise historical past.

Yankees World Series appearances

The Yankees have a remarkably lengthy historical past in the Fall Classic. They have made 40 World Series appearances thus far. They’re 27-13 in the ones appearances.

Date Opponent Result MVP
1921 Giants Giants (5-3) N/A
1922 Giants Giants (4-0) N/A
1923 Giants Yankees (4-2) N/A
1926 Cardinals Cardinals (4-3) N/A
1927 Pirates Yankees (4-0) N/A
1928 Cardinals Yankees (4-0) N/A
1932 Cubs Yankees (4-0) N/A
1936 Giants Yankees (4-2) N/A
1937 Giants Yankees (4-1) N/A
1938 Cubs Yankees (4-0) N/A
1939 Reds Yankees (4-0) N/A
1941 Dodgers Yankees (4-1) N/A
1942 Cardinals Cardinals (4-1) N/A
1943 Cardinals Yankees (4-1) N/A
1947 Dodgers Yankees (4-3) N/A
1949 Dodgers Yankees (4-1) N/A
1950 Phillies Yankees (4-0) N/A
1951 Giants Yankees (4-2) N/A
1952 Dodgers Yankees (4-3) N/A
1953 Dodgers Yankees (4-2) N/A
1955 Dodgers Dodgers (4-3) Johnny Podres, Dodgers
1956 Dodgers Yankees (4-3) Don Larsen, Yankees
1957 Braves Braves (4-3) Lew Burdette, Braves
1958 Braves Yankees (4-3) Bob Turley, Yankees
1960 Pirates Pirates (4-3) Bobby Richardson, Yankees
1961 Reds Yankees (4-1) Whitey Ford, Yankees
1962 Giants Yankees (4-3) Ralph Terry, Yankees
1963 Dodgers Dodgers (4-0) Sandy Koufax, Dodgers
1964 Cardinals Cardinals (4-3) Bob Gibson, Cardinals
1976 Reds Reds (4-0) Johnny Bench, Reds
1977 Dodgers Yankees (4-2) Reggie Jackson, Yankees
1978 Dodgers Yankees (4-2) Bucky Dent, Yankees
1981 Dodgers Dodgers (4-2) Ron Cey, Pedro Guerrero, Steve Yeager, Dodgers
1996 Braves Yankees (4-2) John Wetteland, Yankees
1998 Padres Yankees (4-0) Scott Brosius, Yankees
1999 Braves Yankees (4-0) Mariano Rivera, Yankees
2000 Mets Yankees (4-1) Derek Jeter, Yankees
2001 Diamondbacks Diamondbacks (4-1) Randy Johnson, Curt Schilling, Diamondbacks
2003 Marlins Marlins (4-2) Josh Beckett, Marlins
2009 Phillies Yankees (4-2) Hideki Matsui, Yankees

Leave a Comment