Heat sign Dru Smith to final two-way contract, waive Marcus Garrett, others

The final roster cuts are in. But wait, there’s extra!

The Miami Heat signed guard Dru Smith to their final two-way contract Wednesday night time, in accordance to The Athletic’s Shams Charania.

In next transactions, the Heat have waived Marcus Garrett — who up to now held their final two-way spot, however fractured his proper wrist that can motive him to leave out a minimum of a month — at the side of Jamaree Bouyea, Orlando Robinson and Mychal Mulder, the place all are anticipated ot sign up for Miami’s G-League associate Sioux Falls SkyForce. The AP’s Tim Reynolds used to be first with the inside track of the opposite transactions.

Garrett is anticipated to stay across the staff to rehab from damage.

Smith averaged 7.4 issues, 2.4 rebounds, 1.8 assists and zero.8 steals in 15.1 mins in step with sport, taking pictures 45.5 % from the ground and 41.7 % from deep in 5 preseason video games with the Heat. He had 15 issues on 6-of-11 taking pictures and 2-of-3 from past the arc, including 3 forums, two assists and one scouse borrow Monday night time towards the Rockets.

As an undrafted rookie, Smith performed with Sioux Falls final season, averaging 8.0 issues on 40.5 % taking pictures and 29.7 % taking pictures from disatnace, including 3.3 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 1.2 steals a competition. We’ve observed gamers inside the Heat group get probabilities with Miami after taking part in a minimum of a season with a G-League group — akin to Kendrick Nunn, Duncan Robinson, Max Strus and Omer Yurtseven.

Smith, a 24-year-old lead guard out of Missouri, now will get his alternative. Among the ones waived, Bouyea were given probably the most run within the preseason. He performed 17.2 mins in step with sport, averaging 8.5 issues, 2.5 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.3 steals on 60.9 % taking pictures — pulling down 5 of his 10 triples.

He will now sign up for Jamal Cain — who had a impressive preseason — as Miami’s pair of two-way gamers. Here is the Heat’s 14-man roster (with its two further two-ways) heading into the brand new season:

  • Kyle Lowry
  • Tyler Herro
  • Jimmy Butler
  • Caleb Martin
  • Bam Adebayo
  • Max Strus
  • Victor Oladipo
  • Dewayne Dedmon
  • Duncan Robinson
  • Gabe Vincent
  • Nikola Jovic
  • Omer Yurtseven
  • Haywood Highsmith
  • Udonis Haslem
  • Jamal Cain (two-way)
  • Dru Smith (two-way)

Leave a Comment