Charting Cristiano Ronaldo’s, Lionel Messi’s Ballon d’Or rankings

Karim Benzema gained the 2022 Men’s Ballon d’Or, probably the most illustrious person award in European soccer, for the Real Madrid striker’s herculean efforts in 2021-22.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, extra (U.S.)

The result of this yr’s awards printed at Monday’s gala additionally signalled one thing of a sea exchange as each Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, each fixtures on the Ballon d’Or polls for 15 years, recorded extremely disappointing finishes within the poll.

Previously, a minimum of one or each avid gamers had completed within the most sensible 3 of the vote each and every unmarried yr since 2007, however the 2022 ultimate standings noticed Ronaldo down in twentieth position (his lowest rating since 2005), whilst Messi did not even make it at the 30-man shortlist.

Ronaldo and Messi first gave the impression in combination within the most sensible 3 of the Ballon d’Or vote again in 2007, after they respectively completed 2nd and 3rd in the back of winner Kaka within the ultimate ballot.

Ronaldo then ascended to win his first Ballon d’Or in 2008, sparking a chronic generation of domination for each himself and his rival as they proceeded to proportion the following 10 awards between them.

Here we chart the 2 avid gamers’ respective Ballon d’Or finishes yr via yr, beginning with Ronaldo’s maiden luck some 14 years in the past.

2008 (Ronaldo: Ballon d’Or winner, Messi: second)

Aged 23 on the time and throughout the penultimate season of his first stint at Manchester United, Ronaldo was once the primary of the duo to win the Ballon d’Or. The Portuguese ahead scored 42 objectives throughout the 2007-08 marketing campaign as United gained each the Premier League and Champions League, which in the long run noticed him end forward of Messi within the vote.

2009 (Messi: winner, Ronaldo: second)

Messi was once bestowed together with his first Ballon d’Or on the age of twenty-two after a Treble-winning season that culminated in him scoring in Barca’s Champions League ultimate win over Ronaldo’s United. He turned into the primary Argentine participant to be topped winner, a feat by no means accomplished by Albiceleste nice Diego Maradona.

2010 (Messi: winner, Ronaldo: sixth)

Barcelona ruled the 2010 awards as Messi claimed his 2nd Ballon d’Or whilst the remainder podium puts had been occupied via fellow La Masia alumni Andres Iniesta and Xavi, a mirrored image of Spain’s triumph on the World Cup over the summer season. Meanwhile Ronaldo completed a far off 6th underneath Wesley Sneijder and Diego Forlan.

2011 (Messi: winner, Ronaldo second)

With 43 objectives and 21 assists in 47 video games over the process 2011, it got here as little wonder when Messi gained a 3rd consecutive Ballon d’Or after his peerless performances fuelled Barcelona to an impressive quintuple — LaLiga, Champions League, Spanish Supercopa, UEFA Super Cup and the Club World Cup — within the house of 1 yr.

2012 (Messi: winner, Ronaldo: second)

Ronaldo as soon as once more needed to make do with completing runner-up in the back of Messi because the Barcelona ahead turned into the primary participant in footballing historical past to win 4 successive Ballon d’Ors. The international was once then handled to the sight of Messi gathering his record-shattering trophy whilst dressed as much as the nines in a wonderful polka dot tuxedo.

2013 (Ronaldo: winner, Messi: second)

Ronaldo controlled to claw again some flooring in 2013 via profitable his 2nd Ballon d’Or because the prolific Real Madrid striker pipped Messi and Franck Ribery to the award via distinctive feature of scoring 55 objectives in 55 suits for Los Blancos throughout the 2012-13 season.

2014 (Ronaldo: winner, Messi: second)

Ronaldo finished his Ballon d’Or hat trick on the age of 29 in resounding taste because of a landslide victory over Messi within the ultimate ballot. Scoring 51 objectives in 47 video games in 2013-14 total, the Portuguese famous person additionally helped finish Real Madrid’s quest to protected “La Decima” (the membership’s tenth European Cup identify) via scoring a record-breaking 17 objectives within the Champions League.

2015 (Messi: winner, Ronaldo: second)

Messi returned to the highest of the poll in 2015 after profitable 5 trophies with Barcelona (together with LaLiga and the Champions League) and contributing 52 objectives and 26 assists in 61 video games for membership and nation over the process the calendar yr.

2016 (Ronaldo: winner, Messi: second)

The pendulum then swung once more the next yr as Ronaldo took the honours in 2016 to kickstart a three-year streak of sustained Champions League luck. The 31-year-old scored 54 objectives in 2015-16 as Real Madrid turned into European champions once more ahead of including 3 extra objectives to his hefty tally as Portugal gained Euro 2016.

2017 (Ronaldo: winner, Messi second)

Ronaldo drew stage with Messi’s checklist via claiming the 5th Ballon D’or of his profession in 2017 via distinctive feature of scoring 42 objectives in a LaLiga and Champions League double-winning season with Real Madrid the former marketing campaign (2016-17).

2018 (Ronaldo: second, Messi: fifth)

After enjoying a starring position for each Real Madrid and Croatia, Luka Modric rocked the Ballon d’Or scene via muscling into the body and changing into the primary participant rather than Ronaldo and Messi to win the award for a whole decade.

2019 (Messi: winner, Ronaldo: third)

Messi moved out in entrance as soon as once more via profitable his 6th profession Ballon d’Or in 2019 after scoring 51 objectives and laying on 19 assists (a whopping general of 70 purpose involvements) in 49 suits throughout the 2018-19 season, the marketing campaign by which he gained his ultimate LaLiga identify as a Barcelona participant. Messi and Ronaldo had been separated at the podium via Virgil van Dijk, who completed within the silver-medal spot after his heroics for Liverpool of their Champions League-winning marketing campaign.

2020 (Awards cancelled because of Covid-19)

Despite maximum primary leagues and competitions sooner or later being finished after the primary world lockdown because of the pandemic, the verdict was once taken to not hand out an award in 2020.

2021 (Messi: winner, Ronaldo: sixth)

Having departed Barcelona to sign up for Paris Saint-Germain, Messi additional prolonged his checklist in 2021 — although his 7th Ballon d’Or got here as one thing of a surprise to many fanatics who felt that Bayern Munich’s unstoppable purpose device Robert Lewandowski was once a nailed-on cert to win the award after being so cruelly denied in 2020 when he spearheaded the German giants’ Champions League triumph.

2022 (Ronaldo: twentieth, Messi: DNQ)

Is the fantastic Messi-Ronaldo Ballon d’Or duopoly in spite of everything over? The 2022 Ballon d’Or end result for sure seems ominous for the once-presiding pair after Ronaldo as regards to controlled to limp into the decrease recesses of the general 30-man standings whilst his Argentine fresh did not make the grade solely.

Leave a Comment