In a unique Tuesday version of Ref Watch, former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher explains the most productive and the worst of the big decisions in England and Scotland.
INCIDENT: Nathan Collins jumps right into a problem towards Man City’s Jack Grealish, main together with his studs as he hits the England ahead within the chest. He’s proven a instantly purple card by means of referee Anthony Taylor.
DERMOT SAYS: “I think very few people would think it’s not [a red card]. I don’t know why he’s made that challenge, he’s high, he’s dangerous, he’s caught him above the waist – there’s nothing you can say, it has to be a red card.
“To Anthony Taylor’s credit score, he is known it in an instant, he is observed the severity of it and produced a purple card.”
On similarities with Erling Haaland’s unpunished prime boot vs Crystal Palace: “It’s a wholly other problem, he is there. Collins has long past into make the problem, Haaland has long past to get the ball – the defender comes into his house, he does not know he is there, he does not see him.
“Collins is aware of Grealish is there, he sees him, his studs are up and make have an effect on. It’s only a other problem – I feel Haaland must’ve were given a yellow card for placing his foot that prime, however now not a purple.
“Collins has a duty of care to his opponent, his studs have hit him in the stomach, and he approached Grealish which was the other way round with Haaland.”
INCIDENT: Kieran Trippier’s move from the precise of the Bournemouth field hits Jefferson Lerma’s outstretched arm from shut vary. After a VAR evaluation and a go back and forth to the evaluation track, referee Craig Pawson offers Newcastle a penalty.
DERMOT SAYS: “It’s the right decision, and a VAR decision. From the referee’s position, he has no idea where that ball hits. He doesn’t know if it hits his knee, arm or his thigh, but his arms are out. We’ve seen it this year, the minute your arms are out it gets given.
“If it hit his entrance arm, I may are aware of it now not being given as it is in entrance of his frame, nevertheless it hits the hand that is out. We’ve observed persistently, if the hands are out, or above the shoulder, it will get penalised.
INCIDENT: Jacob Ramsey, to begin with in an offside place, volleys Aston Villa forward from Mohammed Salisu’s tried header transparent from a Villa nook. A VAR evaluation deems the midfielder onside as a result of Salisu had performed the ball.
DERMOT SAYS: “In the Nations League final we had a big furore about Kylian Mbappe’s goal and playing the ball, being in possession of the ball. The rule was rewritten that if the defender makes a clear attempt to play the ball, whether he controls it or not, it plays the attacking player onside.
“Salisu is going to transparent the ball, and at that time it resets. It’s now not supreme, however that is what they have got to paintings with.”
INCIDENT: St Mirren’s 2d objective, scored by means of Jonah Ayunga, is given in spite of appeals from Celtic goalkeeper for a push on Stephen Welsh by means of the goalscorer.
DERMOT SAYS: “He gets lucky. He pushes Welsh in the back, pushes him away. Joe Hart has the perfect view, the one the referee wants. If he had that view, I think he’d give a foul.
“I feel when VAR comes into Scotland, that may be dominated out.”
INCIDENT: Tony Watt and Borna Barisic move shoulder-to-shoulder chasing a ball into the Rangers field, prior to the Dundee United striker finally ends up at the flooring and calling for a penalty, which isn’t given.
DERMOT SAYS: “I think it’s not a penalty. He goes in, it’s clumsy, but I don’t think he clips him. They come together and it’s at that point he goes down, but they’re side-by-side.”
INCIDENT: Malik Tillman chases Jamie McGrath’s run into the Rangers field and places a foot in at the Dundee United guy’s run. McGrath falls to the bottom, however the referee issues for a objective kick.
DERMOT SAYS: “I think this one’s definitely not a penalty. If you watch, he goes in, the players come together, but for me – no penalty. I think he gets the ball, that’s the key.”
INCIDENT: A protracted free-kick into the Aberdeen house hits Ross McCrorie’s outstretched arm within the field. Despite protests from the hosts, the referee offers a nook kick.
DERMOT SAYS: “He doesn’t mean to do it. He goes to head the ball, no doubt about that. His arm is outstretched and I think if that goes to VAR in England that would always be given as a penalty.
INCIDENT: Hibs are awarded a penalty before half-time when Liam Scales pulls down Ryan Porteous in the Aberdeen area, leaving manager Jim Goodwin unhappy when Scales is sent off for a second yellow card, despite appearing that his shirt has been pulled first.
DERMOT SAYS: “That’s Jim Goodwin’s argument, however while you glance he [Scales] holds him down so the referee thinks it is a yellow card offence. In addition to the penalty he is already on a yellow card so he has to head. Even with VAR, do not put out of your mind it can not become involved within the purple card as a result of it is a 2d yellow.”
INCIDENT: Sunderland supervisor Tony Mowbray is left calling for a penalty after what he feels is a push within the again from Watford’s Hamza Choudhury on Black Cats winger Jack Clarke.
DERMOT SAYS: “I think this isn’t a penalty either. He feels the player on him, and throws himself forward. I don’t think that amount of contact would make the player go down like that – and that’s what convinced the referee not to give a penalty.”
INCIDENT: Liverpool Women are awarded a penalty when an extended throw is flicked on by means of Gilly Flaherty onto Millie Bright’s outstretched arm at shut vary.
DERMOT SAYS: “This falls into that bracket – the hands are out. You’ll say it’s very close, but the arms are out. I think it’s straight onto her arm, but her arms are out. Her argument will be that it’s so close, but as we said earlier, the arms are out.”
INCIDENT: Liverpool Women get a 2d penalty when Katie Stengel is introduced down within the Chelsea house by means of Kadeisha Buchanan, who does seem to get one thing at the ball within the procedure.
DERMOT SAYS: “Chelsea will argue she got the ball. She does get the ball, there’s no doubt, but she certainly gets her opponent too first, and wraps herself right around her opponent. She does get the ball, but it’s a penalty.”