Barcelona, Real Madrid, Bayern Which club do you join if you want to win the Ballon dOr

Robert Lewandowski is on a venture to win the Ballon d’Or, with the striker even going public with the admission that he swapped Bayern Munich for Barcelona over the summer season in a bid to fortify his probabilities of in spite of everything claiming the award.

Lewandowski spent 8 extremely a success years in Germany and used to be located as the favorite to win the Ballon d’Or in 2020 after a peerless run of shape noticed him rating 55 objectives in 47 video games as Bayern powered to a league, cup and Champions League treble. However, the striker used to be then cruelly denied his probability via the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, which noticed the match canceled.

The 34-year-old — who did win back-to-back males’s FIFA The Best awards in 2020 and 2021, whilst additionally choosing up the 2021 Striker of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or rite — signed for Barcelona for €45 million this summer season and has mentioned that his choice used to be a minimum of partly influenced via a calculated plot to fortify his probabilities of in spite of everything getting his palms on the Ballon d’Or itself.

“I know that Barcelona is the team where the most players have won it. I think the path is shorter from Barca than from Bayern,” the Polish poacher advised Marca.

Indeed, statistics turn out that Barcelona gamers have gained European soccer’s maximum prestigious particular person award extra occasions than every other club — although after all the ones numbers are considerably skewed via the reality Lionel Messi gained it seven occasions all through his stint at Camp Nou between 2009 and 2021.

However, with 11 objectives in his first 8 video games for Barca already this season, it without a doubt seems like Lewandowski is occupied with chasing down the Ballon d’Or that so cruelly eluded him two years in the past.

Given that the Catalans have observed their gamers declare the award on greater than two times the collection of events that Bayern have since the inaugural rite in 1956 (which used to be gained via Sir Stanley Matthews, Blackpool’s simplest recipient thus far), it seems like historical past may be on his facet.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, MLS, extra (U.S.)

Barcelona (13 Ballon d’Or winners, 6 other gamers)

Over part of Barca’s overall Ballon d’Or wins had been accrued via one guy: with Messi liable for the club’s closing seven triumphs, taking most sensible spot in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021 — the yr by which he left the club to join Paris Saint-Germain on a loose switch.

Prior to Messi’s run of dominance, the Catalans noticed Ronaldinho (2005), Rivaldo (1999), Hristo Stoichkov (1994), Johan Cruyff (1973, 1974) and Luis Suarez (1960) win the award whilst dressed in their well-known blaugrana stripes.

Real Madrid (11 winners, 7 gamers)

Given that Karim Benzema is the odds-on favorite to win this yr’s award, Real Madrid’s depend is most likely to upward push to 12 in the close to long run, however till then they continue to be on 11.

Luka Modric (2018) is Los Blancos‘ most up-to-date winner, although no participant has claimed extra Ballon d’Ors for the Spanish giants than Cristiano Ronaldo (2013, 2014, 2016, 2017). Ronaldo has in reality gained the award 5 occasions general, although the first of his triumphs got here in 2008 all through his first stint at Manchester United.

Skipping again even additional via the annals, Real have Fabio Cannavaro (2008), Ronaldo Nazario (2002), Luis Figo (2000), Alfredo Di Stefano (1957, 1959) and Raymond Kopa (1958) to thank for finishing their spectacular assortment.

Juventus (8 winners, 6 gamers)

Juventus’ most up-to-date Ballon d’Or win got here again in 2003, when Czech Republic maestro Pavel Nedved performed his manner to the trophy, narrowly pipping Thierry Henry of Arsenal in the operating.

Before that, Zinedine Zidane (1998) and Roberto Baggio (1993) each gained the award in the Nineties, whilst Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985) and Paolo Rossi (1982) ensured a flawless four-year sweep all through the mid-’80s.

However, the Bianconeri‘s maiden Ballon d’Or used to be claimed all the long ago in 1961, when the nice Omar Sivori took the honours after firing the club to the Scudetto for the 3rd time in 4 years.

AC Milan (8 winners, 6 gamers)

While level-pegging with their Serie A opposite numbers, Milan simplest have to return to 2007 to to find their closing Ballon d’Or winner in Kaka, who lifted the award 3 years after teammate and strike spouse Andriy Shevchenko (2004) did likewise.

The Rossoneri additionally took the prize six occasions prior to 2000 thank you to George Weah (1995), Marco van Basten (1988, 1989, 1992), Ruud Gullit (1987) and Gianni Rivera (1969.)



Don Hutchison and Jan Age Fjortoft imagine Robert Lewandowski must have gained the males’s Ballon d’Or.

Bayern Munich (5 wins, 3 gamers)

Although it by no means got here to cross due to instances past any one’s keep an eye on, Bayern must have observed their participant elevate the Ballon d’Or in 2020 — thus disrupting an impervious Barcelona-Real Madrid duopoly that were operating since 2009.

Lewandowski completed 2nd in the vote in the back of Messi for the 2021 award, which led the Argentine to congratulate his Polish recent all through his acceptance speech.

“I’d like to mention Robert, it’s been a real honour to compete with him. Everyone knows and we agree that you were the winner last year. I think [award organisers] France Football should award you your 2020 Ballon d’Or, you deserved it,” Messi mentioned from the podium.

Lewandowski wasn’t relatively so courteous in the aftermath. “I’m not that enthusiastic about getting the 2020 award,” he advised Polish outlet Kanale Sportowym. “I would like [Messi’s speech] to be a sincere and courteous statement from a great player and not just empty words.”

With Lewandowski lacking out in 2020, Bayern have to move all the long ago to 1981 to to find their most up-to-date Ballon d’Or recipient, with Karl-Heinz Rummenigge amassing the award for a 2nd consecutive yr. The German club ruled the scene all over the decade prior with the mythical Franz Beckenbauer (1972, 1976) and Gerd Muller (1970) finishing the set.

Manchester United (4 wins, 4 gamers)

Ronaldo is the closing Manchester United participant to win the Ballon d’Or (2008) and even earn such a lot as a congratulatory nod in the most sensible 3 of the vote casting.

David Beckham (2nd, 1999) and Eric Cantona (3rd, 1993) each made it onto the podium in the house of a decade, however United’s earlier Ballon d’Or winner used to be George Best all the long ago in 1968. Best used to be the closing of United’s famed “Holy Trinity” to declare the award, following Sir Bobby Charlton (1966) and Denis Law (1964.)

Leave a Comment